RSS

Quality (not only) in Budapest

19 Jan

Last week was my first one at Canonical and I spent it in Budapest where Ubuntu Engineering and Product Strategy teams had their rally. This is the first company where I was asked to travel on my first day and it did feel strange at the beginning :) After being a Canonical employee for 1+ week I think it is the best way how to start in a new job.

When talking about quality these are probably the key observations I have made from my new perspective of a Product Strategy Quality Lead:

  • Quality really is a focus. Every single engineer I’ve met in Budapest was thinking in terms like unit tests or code coverage and how to make Ubuntu (even) better.
  • More and more people inside Canonical are now focused solely on quality. We have several (great) Quality Engineers, a new QA Community Coordinator. I started last week and Canonical is still hiring some more.
  • A lot is actually already done and you can see and touch the results.  Just give 12.04 with the latest Unity 5.0 a try.
  • Even more is on the way and we will try to cover most of that on this blog as times go.

Being in Budapest was certainly overwhelming but it was worth it. I’m not a person who gets easily excited but now I really am (both from the people and the new products such as Ubuntu TV). I and other quality engineers plan to write more about tools, approaches or just things we consider useful, so please stay tuned.

Do you have any good experience with specific methodology or tool? How did it help with your software projects? Is there anything specific you would like to see on this blog?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Quality

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

